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This document was created to assist members of the Chicopee Fire Department
with smoke detector inspections. It has been revised due to a change in the
state law. All members should become familiar with this material. Tt should be
understood that we might be required to inspect a property that may have a
slightly different floor plan than what we are accustomed to. Members should
view this material as a minimum standard and with your knowledge of smoke
travel within a building you will be able to make qualified decisions regarding
smoke and heat detector placement in buildings. Your primary objective is to
ensure that all occupants of the building have a reasonable opportunity
of being notified that a fire problem exists somewhere in the building.

Dispatchers will forward to the Fire Prevention Office all requests for inspections
of 6 families or greater. Fire Prevention will make appointments and Engine and
or Ladder companies will assist on these inspections if needed.

When dispatchers recelve an inspection request, they are to ask if it is a re-
inspection, and forward the information to the company doing the inspection.
Company members will then check the non-compliance forms.

Members shall have a copy of the guidelines during an inspection.

Members shall make building owners aware that copies of these guidelines are
available in the office.

Owners or their designee are responsible for knowing how to test the system.

Should you fail an owner of a property, advise the owner what needs to be
corrected and complete a noncompliance form.

-Dispatchers shall advise the person requesting an inspection that
payment for the certificate can only be made by check or money order.




Massachusetts General Law, chapter 148 section 26F

Mandates that upon the sale or transfer of certain homes, the seller must install
approved smoke detectors. These requirements apply to residences that were built or
modified prior to creation of the Massachusetts State Building Code

(January 1, 1975). If a building has undergone renovation, addition or modification
after Jan. 1, 1975, the date of the building permit determines the smoke detector

requirements of that building code.

The transfer law applies to residences with five or less residential units.

Smoke Detector Requirements
In general, the requirements for smoke detectors vary depending on when the

residence was constructed. For example, some residences may require battery-powered
detectors, others might need interconnected hard-wired detectors only or a combination
of bath. Others might need interconnected hard-wired detectors with battery backup.
On April 5, 2010, a significant change in the Massachusetts’ smoke detector
requirements will become effective for all residences subject to MGL c. 148, s. 26F
upon sale or transfer. Now, all smoke detectors installed within 20 feet of kitchens or
bathrooms (containing a bathtub or shower) will be required to be photoelectric
detectors. The risk of nuisance alarms from steam and cooking is lower with
photoelectric only detectors. All installed smoke detectors outside of 20 feet of kitchens
or bathrooms (containing a bathtub or shower) must utilize either:

* A DUAL detector (containing both ionization and photoelectric technologies); OR

* Two separate detectors (one photoelectric and one ionization).

In residences not subject to MGL c. 148, s. 26F (built after Jan. 1975),
the smoke detector upgrade is recommended, but is not required by law.
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'Definitions

Hardwired - A permanently wired and directly connected to an AC primary source of
power. Either 110 voit or a low voltage (24-volt) fire protection systeimn.
Interconnected — If more than one smoke or heat detector is required to protect an
area, activation of any one detector will require all detectors to sound an alarm in:
a) Each dwelling unit
OR
b) In the common areas and basement

Secondary power source — 9-volt battery located in the detector for new construction
or remodeling OR 24-volt batteries located in the annunciator panel in fire protection
systems (Buildings with 6 dwelling units or more).

Photoelectric detectors — Any smoke detector located within 20 feet of an entryway
to a kitchen or a bathroom containing a tub or shower is required to be a photoelectric
detector. The 20-foot measurement shall include and extend into common areas of a
multi-family dwelling, if applicable.
Additions and alterations — When one or more sleeping rooms are added or created
in existing dwellings, the entire building shall be provided with smoke detectors
designed and located as required for new construction.

Wall mounted detectors — Detectors shall be installed not less than 4 inches nor
more than 12 inches from the ceiling and not: less than 4 inches from a sidewall.
Measurements are from the ceiling to the top of the detector.

Enclosed rear porches (Buildings with 2 or more dweliling units) — Porches on the first
and second floor that are completely enclosed with glass or wood (screens are not
included); that are connected by an enclosed stairway;_and this area is a means of
egress for more than one dwelling unit is required to have detection. Heat detectors
Iocated on each porch interconnected with smoke detectors in front or side exit way on
each level and in the cellar. (The reason heat detectors are required on enclosed rear
porches verses battery operated smoke detectors in an enclosed rear stairway is
temperature. The temperature in the stairway which is within the building footprint
should remain above 40 degrees. There are not battery operated heat detectors
avallable, and newer codes require that electric detectors be interconnected.)

Owner’s meter — Buildings with 3 or more dwelling units are to have the common area
- smoke and heat detectors on a meter that is controlled by the owner.
-Hardwired Detectors- Hardwired detectors must be maintained. (No battery detector
in place of a hardwired detector.)

Automatic fire department notification — Required in buildings with 13 or more
dwelling units. This can accomplished in two ways, (1) A Fire Department Master Box
located on the building or (2) the fire protection system for the common areas of the
building is monitored by a private company which notifies tha fire department when this

system Is activated.
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NEW CONSTRUCT. ION of 1 and 2 DWELLING UNITS and ADDITIONS and ALTERATIONS
of EXISTING STRUCTURES

All detectors are to be hardwired, interconnected, with a secondary source of power.,
Detectors are to be located;

In all bedrooms

Outside each separate sleeping area

At the base of the cellar stairs

At base of stairs leading to the floor above

On each level of habitation
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NOTE: A smoke detector located within 20 feet of a kitchen or bathroom containing a
tub or shower is required to be a photoelectric smoke detector.

EXISTING STRUCTURES

1 — Dwelling Unit

1. Detectors may he battery operated or electric depending on when the building was
constructed. If the building has hardwired detectors, they must be maintained.
Battery operated detectors may be used to supplement the existing hardwired
system.

Detectors are to be located;

Qutside each separate sleeping area **

At the base of the cellar stairs

At the base of the stairs leading to the floor above

On each level of habitation
*# If the bedroom door is located in the kitchen, the smoke detector is to be located in

the bedroom. It is preferred that the smoke detector be mounted on the ceiling within 6
feet of the doorway but wall mounted smoke detectors are acceptable. See definition of

wall mounted detectors.
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2 — Dwelling Units

1. The requirement for an existing 2 — unit dwelling is the same as an existing 1 — unit

dwelling, with one exception, if the building has enclosed rear porches that are used

as @ common means of egress from the building detection is required in this area.

Buildings without enclosed porches detectors are to be located;

Outside each separate sleeping area**

At the base of the cellar stairs

At the base of the stairs leading to the floor above

On each level of habitation

¥ If the bedroom door is located in the kitchen, the smoke detector is to be located in

the bedroom. It is preferred that the smoke detector be mounted on the ceiling within 6

feet of the doorway but wall mounted smoke detectors are acceptable. See definition of

wall mounted detectors.

3. Buildings with enclosed porches detectors are to be located;

% Heat detectors are to be located on each porch and they are to be intérconnected
with hardwired smoke detectors In the front or side entrance and basement. The
heat detectors must be equipped with a sounding device or horn strobes will be

required.
AND

Battery operated detectors will be allowed in each dwelling unit at the following
locations;

% Outside each separate sleeping area**

% At the base of the stairs leading to the floor above

%+ On each level of habitation
** If the bedroom door is located in the kitchen, the smoke detector is to be located in

the bedroom. It is preferred that the smoke detector be mounted on the ceiling within 6
feet of the doorway but wall mounted smoke detectors are acceptable. See definition of

wall mounted detectors.
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3 to 5 Dweliing Units

1. Smoke detectors are required to be hardwired and interconnected in common
haliways, stairways, and cellar.

2. If the rear porches and their attached stairways are enclosed and are a common
means of egress for more than 1 dwelling unit heat detectors are required to be
interconnected with the smoke detectors in the comman areas. The heat detectors
must be equipped with a sounding device or horn strobes will be required. See
definition of enclosed porch.

3. Battery operated smoke detectors are allowed in each dwelling unit in the following
locations;

% Outside each separate sleeping area**

“ At the base of the stairs leading to the floor above

% On each level of hahitation

4. Owners meter required. :
** If the bedroom door is located in the kitchen, the smoke detector is to be located in

the bedroom. It is preferred that the smoke detector be mounted on the ceiling within 5
feet of the doorway but wall mounted smake detectors are acceptable, See definition of

wall mounted detectors.




6 — 12 Dwelling Units -

1. Buildings have 6 or more dwelling units and having common hallways, cellars, or -
stairways are required to have a low voltage (24 volt) fire protection system
which includes an annunciator panel at grade level, horn strobes, and manual
pull stations within 5 feet of all exits.

2. Fire protection system detectors are required to be hardwired, interconnected, and
have a secondary source of power (24 volt batteries located in the annunciator
panel) In common hallways, stairways, cellar and if the building has enclosed
porches, heat detectors on porches. See definition of enclosed porch. <

3. Because low voltage smoke and heat detectors are not equipped with sounding
devices, horn strobes are a required part. of the fire protection system. A horn
strobe should be located in the cellar and on alternating floors of the front
and rear exits. Example: celiar, and 1% and 3" floor front exit and 2™ and 4% floor

rear exit. The rear exit may be an open porch, we require that horn strobe(s) be
located on open porches.

4, Battery operated smoke detectors are allowed in the apartments. However, If the
units are equipped with hardwired detectors they must be maintained and the unit
supplemented with battery operated detectors. Smoke detectors are to be located;

< Outside each separate sleeping area®*

+ At the base of the stairs leading to the floor above

“» On each level of habitation
** If the bedroom door is located in the kitchen, the smoke detector is to be focated in

the bedroom. It is preferred that the smoke detector be mounted on the ceiling within 6
feet of the doorway but wal mounted smoke detectors are acceptable. See definition of

wall mounted detectors.

13 or More Dwelling Units

" The fire protection system for properties of this size is the same as for buildings that

have 6 to 12 unit dwellings, with one exception. Buildings of this size are required to
have automatic fire department notification. See definition of automatic fire

department notification.




Common scenarios

A two story 3 dwelling unit buiiding with two front doors. One door only
accesses the first floor unit. The other front door accesses a stajrway that leads
to the 2™ and 3™ units. Hardwired interconnected smoke detectors would be
required: in the cellar, in the first floor unit living area (this is the only way they
would be notified of a fire anywhere else in the building), and the common
stairway for the 2™ and 3 units. If there are no doors or obstructions between
the front door and the top of the stairs for the 2™ and 3% units the detector at
the base of those stairs may be eliminated. If this was a 3 story building a
hardwired interconnected smoke detector would be added to the third floor

landing.

A building having business(es) on the first floor and dwelling unit(s) above or
attached. The first floor business(es) Is required to have hardwired heat
detector(s), the basement(s) must have a hardwired smoke detector and a
hardwired smoke detector must be iocated either in the apartment or in an
enciosed exit way for the apartment. These detectors must be interconnected.

An existing two story, 2 dwelling unit building with one front door and an open
porch and stairway in the rear that is used as an exit for both units. This building
is allowed to be equipped with battery operated smoke detectors throughout.
However, this same building but the rear porches and stairway are enclosed.
This buitding would require hardwired heat detectors on each enclosed rear
porch interconnected to hardwired smoke detectors in the cellar, and front
entrance (1* and 2™ fioors).




