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INTRODUCTION   
The Massachusetts Office on Disability (MOD) prepared this pamphlet. 
Founded in 1981, one of the goals of the Office is to increase awareness 
of the rights of persons with disabilities, providing information to people 
with disabilities themselves and to the larger community.     
  
Other goals of the Office include:   
 
● The elimination of discrimination against persons with disabilities; 
● The creation of a barrier free environment; 
● The improvement of the state’s services delivery system for persons 

with disabilities, and 
● The creation of fully integrated and accessible education, housing, 

transportation and employment in the public and private sectors. 
  
To achieve its goals, MOD engages in activities such as the following:  
 
● Monitors the performance of state and local governments in order to 

improve the treatment of persons with disabilities;  
● Operates an information and referral system, the Client Services 

Program, and advocates for the rights of individuals attempting to 
obtain services to which they are entitled and for those who are 
attempting to enforce their civil rights;  

● Operates a Community Services Program which focuses on improving 
access to public and private facilities in the Commonwealth, and 
which works with many individuals, community organizations, and 
municipalities to provide education and technical assistance to assure 
disability rights are enforced.  

  
For further information about the Office on Disability, the details of the 
laws discussed in this pamphlet, or to obtain assistance in asserting your 
rights, visit the MOD web site at http://www.mass.gov /mod, or call [617] 
727-7440 or toll free at [800] 322-2020. 
  
Notes:  

● The materials contained in this pamphlet ARE NOT under a © 
copyright.  The pamphlet may be quoted or photocopied without 
consent.  However, attribution is requested.  

 
● Laws and regulations are changed frequently. The materials in 

the pamphlet reflect the laws and regulations in effect on June 
21, 2010.  Please refer to the laws and regulations directly for the 
current text. 
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ABUSE, NEGLECT & TREATMENT CONDITIONS 
 

Massachusetts Disabled Persons Protection Act 
 

G.L. c. 19c   
This statute protects disabled persons, including persons with 
mental retardation, physical disabilities, and head injuries, who are 
between the ages of 18 and 59, and who, as a result of a disability, 
are dependent on others to meet their daily living needs. Anyone 
suspecting abuse can contact the Disabled Persons Protection 
Commission (DPPC). “Mandated reporters” (physicians, dentists, 
nurses, teachers, day care workers, etc.) must report cases of 
suspected abuse. After the suspected abuse is reported, the DPPC 
investigates allegations of abuse by caretakers only. In some 
cases, those investigations are referred to an agency within the 
Executive Office of Health and Human Services for intervention 
and further investigation. After the investigation (which should be 
completed within 24 hours if the call is an emergency and 10 days 
if it is not) protective services are delivered.  
  

For more information or to report a case of abuse:  
Disabled Persons Protection Commission 
50 Ross Way, Quincy, MA 02169 
(617) 727-6465, Abuse Hotline (800) 426-9009, (800) 245-0062 
(All Voice/TTY) 
Website: http://www.mass.gov/dppc  

  
 

Massachusetts Mental Illness or Mental Retardation, 
Rights of Persons Receiving Treatment Act 

 
G.L. c. 123, § 23   
Individuals receiving treatment for mental illness or mental 
retardation are entitled to certain rights and privileges, such as 
sending and receiving mail, receiving visitors, using telephones 
and living in a humane psychological and physical environment.   
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G.L. c. 123, §12 
Central to these rights is the limitation of the number of days 
people may be confined to a hospital without a court order. 
  

 Enforcement: Notice of the rights created under this law is to 
be prominently posted in all programs and facilities. Those 
notices include information about where and how to appeal 
violations of these rights.  
 

 
Civil Rights of Institutionalized Persons Act 

 
42 U.S.C. §1997, et seq. 
The Civil Rights of Institutionalized Persons Act (CRIPA) 
authorizes the U.S. Attorney General to investigate conditions of 
confinement at state and local government institutions such as 
prisons, jails, pretrial detention centers, juvenile correctional 
facilities, publicly operated nursing homes, and institutions for 
people with psychiatric or developmental disabilities. Its purpose is 
to allow the Attorney General to uncover and correct widespread 
deficiencies that seriously jeopardize the health and safety of 
residents of institutions. The Attorney General does not have 
authority under CRIPA to investigate isolated incidents or to 
represent individual institutionalized persons.  The Attorney 
General may initiate civil law suits where there is reasonable cause 
to believe that conditions are "egregious or flagrant," that they are 
subjecting residents to "grievous harm," and that they are part of a 
"pattern or practice" of resistance to residents' full enjoyment of 
constitutional or Federal rights, including Title II of the ADA and 
section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act.  
  

Enforcement: 
U.S. Department of Justice, Civil Rights Division 
950 Pennsylvania Avenue, N.W. , Room 5028 
Special Litigation Section - PHB 
Washington, D.C. 20530 
(877) 218-5228 (Voice/TTY) 
Website: http://www.usdoj.gov/crt/split    
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ARCHITECTURAL ACCESS 
 

Massachusetts Architectural Access Board 
 

G.L. c. 22, § 13A  
 
The Architectural Access Board (AAB) is a regulatory agency 
whose mandate is to develop and enforce regulations designed to 
make public buildings accessible to, functional for and safe for use 
by persons with disabilities. See 521 C.M.R.  In addition to writing 
regulations, the Board decides on variance requests, issues 
advisory opinions and makes decisions on complaints. Local 
building inspectors are responsible for enforcing the regulations 
which are a specialized section of the Massachusetts Building 
Code. See 780 C.M.R.  
  
The construction, renovation, remodeling, or alteration of a building 
or facility that is open to the public triggers the authority of the 
AAB.  New construction must fully comply. 
  
For renovation, remodeling, or alteration: 
 

● The work being done must comply with the regulations.  
● If the work done in any 36-month period is greater than 

$100,000, the “work being performed” is required to 
comply.  In addition, an accessible entrance and an 
accessible toilet room, telephone and drinking fountain (if 
toilets, telephones and drinking fountains are provided) 
shall also be provided. 

● If the work done in a 36-month period is more than 30% of 
the “full and fair cash value” of the building,[1] the entire 
building must come into compliance.  

  
                                                 
1 This is usually the assessed value established by the city or town. See 
521 C.M.R. § 5.38 for details about establishing value where no 
assessment exists. 
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Enforcement: Anyone can file a complaint with the Board. The 
Board has the authority to issue variances and impose fines of 
up to $1000 per violation per day of noncompliance with its 
order.  
 
Call the AAB for the appropriate complaint or variance forms.  
   

Architectural Access Board  
One Ashburton Place, Room 1310, Boston, MA 02108   
(617) 727-0660 (Voice/TTY) 
Website: http://www.mass.gov/aab 

  
See also Chapter 11, sec. 82 of the Acts of 1997 this was a budget 
bill.  It is not clear if it applies to work done in years other than 
FY1997.  It states: 
  

“The Department of Highways is hereby authorized and directed 
to require the installation of curb-cuts, so called, for the purpose 
of compliance with the Americans with Disabilities Act, so called, 
for any highway project involving substantial resurfacing, lane 
realignment, widening, construction or reconstruction that uses 
funds of the Commonwealth.  Said curb cuts shall be required at 
any intersection or crosswalk directly located within the scope of 
any such project, or that abuts or is reasonably adjacent to the 
scope of such work.  The requirements of this section shall apply 
to any highway project undertaken by said department or a 
political subdivision of the Commonwealth using said funds, but 
shall not apply to routine maintenance.” 
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Federal Architectural Barriers Act 

 
42 U.S.C. § 4151, et seq. 
The Architectural Barriers Act (ABA) requires that buildings and 
facilities that are designed, constructed or altered with federal 
funds, or leased by a federal agency, comply with federal 
standards for physical accessibility. 41 C.F.R. §101-19.6.  ABA 
requirements are limited to architectural standards in new and 
altered buildings and in newly leased facilities.  They do not 
address the activities conducted in those facilities.  U.S. Postal 
Services facilities are also covered by the ABA.   

 
Enforcement:  For more information or complaint forms 
contact: 
US Architectural & Transportation Barriers Compliance Bd. 
1331 F Street, NW, Suite 1000 
Washington, D.C. 20004-1111 
(800) 872-2253 (Voice) / (800) 993-2822 (TTY) 
Website: http://www.access-board.gov  

 
Americans with Disabilities Act Accessibility Guidelines 
(ADAAG) 

 
http://www.access-board.gov/adaag/about/index.htm  
 
The Federal Access Board  created the ADAAG in 1991, under 
authority granted by the Americans with Disabilities Act.  The 
ADAAG established uniform building standards for new 
construction and renovations.   
 

Enforcement: ADAAG is enforceable by:  
U.S. Department of Justice, Civil Rights Division 
950 Pennsylvania Avenue, N.W. , Room 5028 
Special Litigation Section - PHB 
Washington, D.C. 20530 
(877) 218-5228 (Voice/TTY) 
Website: http://www.usdoj.gov/crt/split 

  

 6 – MA Disability Laws  

AUTOMOBILES & TRANSPORTATION 
 

Americans with Disabilities Act: Title IIB Transportation 
 

42 U.S.C. § 12141, et seq.   
Public Transportation services, such as buses, subways and rail 
transit systems, may not discriminate against people with 
disabilities in the ways they provide their services.  New public 
transit buses and rail vehicles ordered after August 26, 1990 must 
be wheelchair accessible. Transit authorities that operate fixed 
route bus or rail systems must provide comparable para-transit or 
other special transportation services to individuals with disabilities 
who cannot use fixed route bus services, unless an undue burden 
would result. Existing rail systems must have one accessible car 
per train (effective July 26, 1995). Key stations in rapid, light and 
commuter rail systems should have been made accessible by July 
26, 1992, with extensions up to 20 years for commuter rail and 30 
years for rapid and light rail for stations needing extraordinarily 
expensive structural changes. All existing Amtrak stations must be 
accessible by July 26, 2010. Private businesses that provide public 
transportation services will have to comply with the same 
requirements as public transit agencies, except for automobiles. 
The date for requiring new over-the-road buses (Greyhound-type) 
to be accessible was July 26, 1996 or 1997, depending on the size 
of the business. Private businesses that provide transportation 
(such as hotels) will have to ensure disabled persons a level of 
service equivalent to that provided to the general public.  
  
Under Title III, 42 U.S.C §12183, et seq., The ADA also imposes 
restrictions on private transportation providers that offer their 
services to the public.  Specifically, they may not impose or apply 
eligibility criteria that screen out or tend to screen out an individual 
with a disability.  They must make reasonable modifications to their 
policies, practices, and procedures, provide auxiliary aids and 
services and remove physical barriers to participation.  In some 
circumstances, private transportation providers must also comply 
with requirement for the purchase or lease of new accessible 
vehicles. 
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Enforcement:  
Department of Transportation, FTA, Region 1 
55 Broadway Suite 920, Cambridge, MA 02142 
(617) 494-2055 (Voice), 617 494-3154 (TTY) 
[617] 494-2055 FAX 
Websites: http://www.unitedweride.gov and 
http://www.fta.dot.gov/transit_data_info/ada/14524_ENG_HTML.htm  
Individuals may also file private lawsuits.    
 

 
Federal Air Carrier Access Act 

 
49 U.S.C. § 41705  
 Domestic air carriers may not refuse persons with disabilities 
transportation because of their disability. Some of the provisions 
include the following: Air carriers may not limit the number of 
persons with disabilities on a flight, may not require special 
services (such as advance boarding), may not require advance 
notice except for certain accommodations, may not require travel 
with an attendant except in limited circumstances, must provide 
boarding assistance and assistance within the cabin, must give 
priority to storage of wheelchairs and may not charge for 
accommodations required by the law. New aircraft over certain 
sizes must have movable armrests, accessible lavatories and 
space for storing wheelchairs (the larger the aircraft the more 
access is required).   
  

Enforcement: Air carriers must establish their own compliance 
procedure, including “complaints resolution officials.” 
Complaints may also be filed with:  
Aviation Consumer Protection Division 
Office of the General Counsel 
U.S. Department of Transportation 
Suite W96-432 (West Building) 
1200 New Jersey Ave, S.E., Washington D.C. 20590  
(202) 366-2220 (Voice / TTY) 
Website: 
http://www.faa.gov/passengers/passengers_disabilities  
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Massachusetts Automobile Excise Tax Exemption  

 
G.L. c. 60A, § l  
Exempts qualified disabled persons from excise tax requirements. 
The motor vehicle must be owned and registered by a person who 
has suffered loss or permanent loss of use of both legs or both 
arms or loss of vision of both eyes to a certain degree. The 
exemption applies to one motor vehicle per person, owned and 
registered for their personal, noncommercial use. Applications for 
exemptions are available from the local town assessor’s office. 

 
Massachusetts Automobile Sales Tax Exemption  

 
G.L. c. 64H, § 6  
This law exempts certain people with disabilities from the purchase 
and use tax of a motor vehicle. To qualify, a disabled person must 
be the original registered owner of the motor vehicle and have the 
loss of two or more limbs or permanent loss of use of at least 80% 
of two or more limbs.  Parents and others, who transport similarly 
disabled children or adults, who have been found incompetent to 
legally enter into contracts, may also be entitled to this exemption. 
See DOR Directive 03-11. The Department of Revenue has 
clarified that a wheelchair lift used to make a van accessible may 
also be exempt even if purchased separately from the vehicle.  In 
cases where the lift is purchased after the van, a physician’s 
prescription may be needed to document this exemption.  See 
DOR Directive 00-7. 

Applications:  
Department of Revenue, Customer Service Bureau 
P.O. Box 7010, Boston, MA 02204 
(617) 887-6367 (Voice) / (800) 392-6089 (Voice) 
617-887-6140 (TTY) 
Website: http://www.mass.gov/dor  

or  
Mass. Registry of Motor Vehicles, Medical Affairs 
P.O. Box 55889, Boston, MA 02205-5889 
(617) 351-9222 (Voice); (877) 768-8833 (TTY) 
Website: http://www.mass.gov/rmv 
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Massachusetts Gas Station Law  

 
G.L. c. 94, § 295CC   
A gas station that has both full and self-service pumps must 
dispense fuel at the self-service pumps at the lower price to 
persons who have HP plates, placards or disabled veterans plates. 
At all self-service stations with more than one attendant, the 
attendants are obliged to pump gas for people with a disabilities 
who request it. There must be signs at the pumps, informing 
patrons of this requirement.  
  

Enforcement:  
Executive Office of Consumer Affairs 
Division of Standards 
One Ashburton Place, Room 1115 
Boston, MA 02108  
(617) 727-3480 (Voice/TTY) 
Website: http://www.mass.gov/standards 
 
 

 
Massachusetts Handicapped Parking Laws 

 
Chapter 40 governs a variety of activities by cities and towns, 
including parking.  The primary sections that deal with 
Handicapped parking are: 
  
1.   Parking Lots: 

G.L. c. 40 § 21, ¶ 23: All parking lots and garages open to the 
public must comply with the parking regulations of the 
Architectural Access Board which are similar to but significantly 
different from the specifications of this Handicapped Parking 
Law. The Law requires public or private parking areas that are 
used by the public to reserve designated parking spaces for 
vehicles, which bear an HP plate, placard or a disabled veteran 
plate. The minimum numbers for designated spaces are as 
follows:  
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Total Spaces % HP Minimum #
Greater than 15 - 25 - 1 

26 - 40 5.00% 2 
41 -100  4.00% 3 

101 - 200 3.00% 4 
201 - 500 2.00% 6 

501 - 1,000 1.50% 10 
1,001 - 2,000 1.00% 15 
2,001 - 5,000 0.75% 20 

> 5,001 0.50% 30 
  

These spaces must be as near as possible to the building 
entrance or walkway and adjacent to a curb ramp permitting 
sidewalk access. The spaces must have above grade signs 
which bear the words “Handicapped Parking: Special Plate 
Required Unauthorized Vehicles May be Removed at Owner’s 
Expense”.  Clarified by Chapter 76 Acts of 2008, 
http://www.mass.gov/legis/laws/seslaw08/sl080076.htm, the 
crosshatched areas between designated spaces are not extra 
parking spaces.  No one may park in the crosshatch areas, as 
they allow sufficient space for wheelchair lifts and other mobility 
devices to be used when entering and leaving a vehicle.   

  
2.   Parking Meter Fees  

G.L. c. 40 § 22A:  In cities and towns that have parking meters, 
people who have an HP plate or display placard are exempt 
from paying parking meter fees.  However, this exemption only 
applies to meters, not any other type of pay to park system.  

   
3.   Over Parking Time Limits  

G.L. c. 40 §22:  People who have an HP plate or display 
placard are exempt from the time limits on a parking space, 
such as 15 minutes or 1 hour only, etc.  However, this does not 
exempt plate or placard users from fines or towing when “No 
Parking” restrictions are in effect, such as snow emergencies, 
and overnight parking bans.  

  
4.   Reserved Spaces and Towing  

G.L. c. 40 §22D:  A municipality may further regulate parking 
by restricting certain on-street areas for vehicles bearing HP 
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plates or placards.  People who park blocking curb cuts or 
handicapped parking spaces can be towed. 
  
Enforcement:  Fines for parking in a handicapped parking 
space without a plate or placard range from one hundred 
dollars ($100) to three hundred dollars ($300).  The 
municipality determines the exact amount.  Also, violators 
may be towed. Enforcement is by the local police or traffic 
department.  
 

Website: http://www.mass.gov/cc for individual city and 
town information.  

  
 

Massachusetts Handicap Plate and Placard Law  
 

G.L. c. 90, § 2  
HP plates and placards are issued through the Registry of Motor 
Vehicles to eligible people with disabilities. As discussed under the 
parking laws above, they entitle holders:  

● to park in designated HP spaces,  
● to park longer than usual time limits,  
● to park at parking meters free of charge, and  
● to make use of the gas station law.  

  
The rights, responsibilities and privileges of plate holders and 
placard holders are the same. The Registry’s Bureau of Medical 
Affairs determines eligibility according to physician’s 
documentation. Only people who meet the disability definition and 
who are the registered owner of the vehicle and who are licensed 
drivers may receive plates. Anyone who meets the disability 
definition can get a placard. Individuals who meet the standards for 
both plates and placards can choose which they prefer. The only 
practical difference between them is that a plate is permanently 
attached to one car, while a placard is a card that can easily be 
moved from one car to another.  The Massachusetts Registry of 
Motor Vehicles also issues temporary placards in some 
circumstances.   
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Note: Substantially revised in 2000, the law allows eligible 
individuals to obtain both a placard and a plate.  An individual who 
uses a handicapped placard without proper authorization is the 
individual who will be penalized, as opposed to the individual with a 
disability to whom the placard was issued.  A placard may be 
utilized for parking in association with the transportation of the 
authorized user of the placard.  This change addresses confusion 
related to the appropriate use of a placard when picking up or 
dropping off the authorized user.  It allows workers with disabilities 
to use their placard when driving a commercial vehicle, but 
preserves the time limitations for the utilization of commercial 
spaces.  Paragraph 9 increases the fines for unauthorized 
utilization of handicapped placard from one hundred to five 
hundred dollars for the first offense and one thousand dollars for 
subsequent offenses.  License suspension for violation of this law 
run from 30 Days for a first offense to one year for a third or 
subsequent offense. The fines and penalties in this section are in 
addition to those specified in Section 37E of Chapter 266 for the 
fraudulent use of another's identity.  If plate or placard user 
voluntarily allows someone else to use his or her a placard or 
plate, it can result in revocation of the placard or plate. 
 
Also, Chapter 90 Section 24B, ¶1 provides that: 

Whoever falsely makes, steals, alters, forges or counterfeits or 
procures or assists another to falsely make, steal, alter, forge 
or counterfeit … a special parking identification disability 
placard, … or whoever has in his possession, or utters, 
publishes as true or in any way makes use of a falsely made, 
stolen, altered, forged or counterfeited …  special parking 
identification disability placard … shall be punished by a fine of 
not more than five hundred dollars or by imprisonment in the 
state prison for not more than five years or in jail or house of 
correction for not more than two years. 
  
Applications for plates and placards are available at the 
Registry of Motor Vehicles Offices or by contacting: 
Massachusetts Registry of Motor Vehicles 
Medical Affairs, P.O. Box 55889, Boston, MA 02205-5889 
(617) 351-9222 (Voice) / (877) 768-8833 (TTY)    

Or  
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Hand Deliveries to:  
Massachusetts Registry of Motor Vehicles  
630 Washington Street 
Boston, MA. 02119 
Website: http://www.mass.gov/rmv/medical 
  

 
Massachusetts White Cane Law 

 
GL c. 90 § 14A   
Whenever a blind pedestrian, guided by a guide dog or carrying a 
raised or extended cane that is white or white tipped with red, 
attempts to cross a street, drivers must stop for the dog or cane 
user. A person who owns an animal shall restrain and control such 
animal on a leash when in proximity to a guide dog that is on a 
public or private way. Violations of this law are punishable by a 
criminal fine of not less than one hundred and no more than five 
hundred dollars.  

  
Enforcement: State and local police enforce the White Cane 
Law.   
Websites for Municipalities: http://www.mass.gov/cc 
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DISABILITY COMMISSIONS 
 

Massachusetts Disability Commissions 
 

G.L. c. 40, § 8J and 22G   
A city or town, which accepts the provisions of this Section, is 
authorized to establish a Disability Commission. Commissions 
work with the Office on Disability to carry out programs and 
activities designed to integrate people with disabilities into the 
community. The specific activities of a Commission depend on the 
needs of the disabled community in the particular city or town. 
 Commissions consist of five to nine members, and are appointed 
by the mayor or city manager in cities or by the selectmen or town 
manager in towns. The majority of members must be disabled, and 
one must be an immediate family member of a disabled person. 
One member of the Commission must be an elected or appointed 
official of the city or town. Members are initially appointed in 
staggered one, two and three year terms. A Commission must 
have at least six meetings per year, keep records of its meetings 
and actions, and file an annual report.  Commissions generally are 
authorized to receive gifts and other funds, under Section 8J.   For 
the benefit of persons with disabilities, cities and towns which have 
chosen to implement a Handicapped Parking Program may 
empower Commissions to receive and administer fines from 
violations of the Handicapped Parking Law, under Section 22G. 
The details of these funding decisions are left to the collaborative 
efforts of officials in the local communities.  For more information, 
contact the Massachusetts Office on Disability.   
  

NOTE:  The fines for handicapped parking violations were 
substantially increased at the very end of the 2000 legislative 
session.   See pages 9 - 12, for more information on the Plate / 
Placard and Parking Laws. 
Web: http://mass.gov/mod/MunicipalCommissionList.html 
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EDUCATION 
 

Massachusetts Fair Educational Practices Law 
 

G.L. c. 151C 
Very limited protections are available in the area of education. 
Specifically, for “educational institutions,” it is illegal to exclude 
from admission any student because the student is blind or deaf or 
requires the use of a guide dog.  Educational institutions are 
defined as:  
  

any institution for instruction or training, including but not 
limited to secretarial schools, business schools, 
academies, colleges, universities, primary and secondary 
schools, which accept applications for admission from the 
public generally and which is not in its nature distinctly 
private …  
  

GL c. 151C §1(b)  
For “vocational schools,” disability is not mentioned as a protected 
classification.  Vocational schools are defined as: 
  

 … any educational institution the primary purpose of 
which is to offer technical, agricultural, business or trade 
courses or courses of study leading to employment in 
recognized trades or occupations.   
 

G.L. c. 151C §1(d) 
Enforcement: Complaints must be filed within six months of 
the alleged discrimination with Massachusetts Commission 
Against Discrimination: 
  
1 Ashburton Pl. #601, Boston, MA 02108   
(617) 994-6000 (Voice), (617) 994-6196 (TTY),  

or 

436 Dwight St., #220, Springfield, MA 01103 
(413) 739-2145 (Voice/TTY) 
Website: http://www.mass.gov/mcad 
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Massachusetts Early Childhood Intervention Law 

 
G.L. c. 111G   
 Under this law, the Department of Public Health (DPH) is 
responsible for the implementation and administration of early 
intervention services.  Early intervention services are provided to 
children and the families of children who are between birth and 
three years of age and who have identified handicapping 
conditions or who are at risk for developmental delays due to 
biological or environmental factors.  Services focus on the family 
and include speech, occupational and physical therapy, social 
work, psychological, and nursing care.  DPH must provide 
transportation whenever transportation to early intervention 
services is required.  Under this law, DPH is the lead agency for 
the coordination of all governmental funding for the provision of 
early intervention services, both state and federal.  DPH is also 
responsible for administration of an advisory committee, which 
monitors and assesses the effectiveness of the administration of 
early intervention services. 

  
Enforcement:  
Department of Public Health 
Bureau of Family Health & Nutrition 
250 Washington Street, 5th Floor 
Boston, MA 02108  
(617) 624-6060 (Voice) / (617) 624-6001 (TTY) 
Website: http://www.mass.gov/dph/fch 

  
 

Federal Individuals with Disabilities Education Act 
 

20 U.S.C. § 1400, et seq.   
 This federal law, modeled after the Massachusetts law Chapter 
766, requires public schools to make available to all eligible 
children with disabilities a free and appropriate public education in 
the least restrictive environment appropriate to their individual 
needs. Any child who qualifies for special education services will 
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receive them following an evaluation and the development of an 
Individualized Education Plan (IEP). A team of interested parties, 
which can include such people as educators, parents, physicians 
and advocates, develops the plan.  
  

Enforcement: If an agreement cannot be reached concerning 
a student’s IEP or if the agreed upon plan is not being 
implemented, contact: 
 U.S. Department of Education 
Office for Special Education and Rehabilitation Services  
400 Maryland Ave., SW 
Washington, DC 20202-7100   
(800) 872-5327 (Voice) / (800) 437-0833 (TTY) 
Website: http://www.ed.gov/about/offices/list/osers  
  
 

 
Massachusetts Public Education Law, Ch. 766  

 
G.L. c. 71B, §§ 1 - 14  
 This state law guarantees a "free and appropriate public education 
in the least restrictive environment" to all school-aged children 
(ages 3 to 22) regardless of disability. Any child who qualifies for 
special education services will receive services specified in an 
Individualized Education Plan (IEP). A team of interested parties, 
including educators, parents, physicians and advocates, develops 
the plan.    

Enforcement: If an agreement cannot be reached concerning 
a student’s IEP or if the agreed upon plan is not being 
implemented, the Department of Education should be 
contacted.  
Mass Department of Education 
Program Quality Assurance Unit 
350 Main Street, Malden, MA 02148-5023 
(781) 338-3000 (Voice) / (800) 439-2370 (TTY) 
Website: http://www.doe.mass.edu   
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It was amended in May 2010 to address bullying children 
with disabilities, providing in Chapter 92 of the Acts of 
2010, §7 (5/3/2010), that: 

Whenever the evaluation of the Individualized 
Education Program team indicates that the child has a 
disability that affects social skills development or that 
the child is vulnerable to bullying, harassment or 
teasing because of the child’s disability, the 
Individualized Education Program shall address the 
skills and proficiencies needed to avoid and respond to 
bullying, harassment or teasing. 

 

 

 
Massachusetts Braille Literacy Law 

 
G.L. c. 6, § 133G and G.L. c. 71B, § 3   
Legally blind adults and children are entitled to instruction in 
braille.  School age children are entitled to receive their instruction 
as part of their school's special education services.  Others receive 
training through the Massachusetts Commission for the Blind.  
  

For further information contact: 
Mass. Commission for the Blind 
48 Boylston Street. Boston, MA 02116-4718 
(617) 727-5550 & (800) 392-6450 (Voice) 
FAX (617) 626-7685; (800) 392-6556 (TTY) 
Website: http://www.mass.gov/mcb  
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Massachusetts Transitional Planning Services, Turning 
22 (Commonly Known as Chapter 688) 

 
G.L. c. 71 B, §§ 12A - C   
This law provides a transitional planning process for eligible people 
with disabilities who will lose special education services upon 
graduation or upon turning 22. An assigned agency develops an 
Individual Transitional Plan describing the services needed. The 
Individual Transitional Plan must be agreed upon by the 
Department of Education, the Executive Office of Health and 
Human Services, other agencies involved, and people with 
disabilities or their guardians. The Bureau of Transitional Planning 
within the Department of Education monitors all Chapter 688 
cases.  
  

Enforcement: Questions and complaints are sent to: 
Bureau of Transitional Planning 
Executive Office of Health & Human Services 
One Ashburton Place, Room 1109, Boston, MA 02108 
(617) 573-1600 (Voice); (617) 727-0014 (TTY) 
Website: 
http://www.mass.gov/?pageID=eohhs2modulechunk&L=3&L0=
Home&L1=Consumer&L2=Disability+Services&sid=Eeohhs2&b
=terminalcontent&f=mrc_c_turning22_guide&csid=Eeohhs2    
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EMPLOYMENT 
 

Americans with Disabilities Act Title I: Employment 
 

42 U.S.C. § 12111, et seq.  
The law prohibits employers from firing, refusing to hire or rehire, 
or otherwise discriminating, against a qualified person with a 
disability on the basis of disability. To be “qualified” a person must 
be able to perform the essential functions of the job, or would be 
able to perform the essential functions with reasonable 
accommodation. “Reasonable accommodations,” such as a flexible 
work schedule, providing a reader or transfer to an office in an 
accessible location, are adjustments employers must make to 
enable persons with disabilities to work. These accommodations 
are at the employer’s expense, unless they are an “undue 
hardship.”  For employers with 25 or more employees, the law 
became effective July 26, 1992; for employers with 15 or more 
employees it became effective July 26, 1994. Please be sure to 
review Massachusetts Employment Discrimination Law, which 
applies to employers with 6 or more employees.  Also, please 
consult Sections 501 and 504 of the Federal Rehabilitation Act and 
Executive Order 478.  
  

Enforcement:  
Equal Employment Opportunity Commission 
JFK Building, Rm. 475, Boston, MA 02203-0506 
(617) 565-3200 or (800) 669-4000 (Voice) 
(800) 669-6820 (TTY) 
Website: http://www.eeoc.gov 
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Federal Rehabilitation Act 

 
Employment by the Federal Government: Section 501  
29 U.S.C. § 791 et seq.   
Prohibits discrimination and requires adoption of affirmative action 
plans for hiring, placement, and advancement of individuals with 
disabilities within federal agencies and the U.S. Postal Service.   

 
Enforcement: Complaints may be filed with the agency’s 
Equal Employment Opportunity Counselor for informal 
review and resolution. If the matter is not resolved 
satisfactorily within 21 days, a formal complaint may be 
filed with the agency head, the Director of Equal 
Employment Opportunity, an Equal Opportunity Officer, or 
other designated official.  

  
Employment by Federal Contractors: Section 503 
29 U.S.C. §793 
Prohibits discrimination based on disability and requires affirmative 
action in hiring persons with disabilities when the employer has a 
contract or subcontract with the federal government in excess of 
$10,000.   
  

Enforcement:  
The 503 regulations are written and enforced by the 
Department of Labor. Complaints go to:  
U.S. Department of Labor 
Office of Federal Contract Compliance Programs 
J.F.K. Building, Room E-235 
Boston, MA 02203  
(866) 487-2365 (Voice) / (877) 889-5627 (TTY) 
Website: http://www.dol.gov/esa/ofccp 

  
 
 
 
 
 

  

 22 – MA Disability Laws  

 
Massachusetts Employment Discrimination Law 

 
G.L. c. 151B, 4, ¶ 16    
This law prohibits any employer in Massachusetts who employs six 
or more people from firing, refusing to hire or rehire, or otherwise 
discriminating against a qualified disabled person based on 
disability. A “qualified” disabled person must be able to perform the 
essential functions of the job, with or without a reasonable 
accommodation. “Reasonable accommodations,” such as a flexible 
work schedule or providing a reader, are adjustments an employer 
must make to enable a person with a disability to do a job. These 
accommodations are at the employer’s expense as long as they do 
not create an undue hardship.  

Enforcement: The Massachusetts Commission Against 
Discrimination (MCAD) enforces the statute. A complaint 
must be filed at an MCAD office within 300 days of the 
discriminatory act: 

1 Ashburton Pl. #601 
Boston, MA 02108  
(617) 994-6000 (Voice); (617) 994-6196 (TTY) 

 Or 

 436 Dwight St., #220 
Springfield, MA 01103 
(413) 739-2145 (Voice/TTY) 
Website: http://www.mass.gov/mcad  
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EQUAL RIGHTS 
 

Americans with Disabilities Act 
 

42 U.S.C. § 12101, et seq.  
The Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) provides a 
comprehensive national mandate for the elimination of 
discrimination against individuals with disabilities. The individual 
parts of the law are discussed in the corresponding subject matter 
sections of this booklet.  Specifically, in the following areas: 
  
● Employment, Title I, see page 20,  
● State and municipal government, Title IIA, see page 34, 
● Transportation, Title IIB, see page 6, 
● Public accommodations, Title III, see page 34, and  
● Telecommunications Title IV, see page 42.  
  
The particular parts of the law became effective on various dates 
during the early 1990’s.  
  

 
Massachusetts Constitutional Amendment 

 
Article 114  
The Massachusetts Constitution states:   

“No otherwise qualified handicapped individual shall, solely by 
reason of his handicap, be excluded from participation in, be 
denied the benefits of, or be subject to discrimination under any 
program or activity within the Commonwealth.”  

Article 114 is written broadly.  It prohibits discrimination based on 
disability on any level within the state, not just for recipients of state 
or federal funds. For example, town meetings must be held in an 
accessible place with sign language interpreters provided if 
needed, and a small grocery store or a privately owned dinner 
theater cannot refuse to do business based on a person’s 
disability.   
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Enforcement: Enforcement of this Amendment is through the 
courts.  However, we have not seen its full impact because it 
has not been fully tested in the courts. If you feel your rights 
have been violated under Article 114, contact the 
Massachusetts Office on Disability. If a resolution can not be 
reached, MOD will help you file a complaint with the Civil 
Rights Division of the Office of the Attorney General.  
(617) 727-2200 (Voice) / (617) 727-4765 (TTY) 
Website: 
http://www.mass.gov/?pageID=cagosubtopic&L=3&L0=Home&L1=Ci
vil+Rights&L2=Disability+Rights&sid=Cago   
  

 
Massachusetts Equal Rights Law 

 
G.L. c. 93 § 103   
Implementing Article 114 to the Massachusetts Constitution, the 
equal rights law guarantees persons with disabilities (with 
reasonable accommodation) the same rights as other persons, 
such as the rights to contract, to inherit, to purchase, to lease, to 
sell, to participate in law suits and to receive the full benefit of the 
law.  
  

Enforcement: Complaints of violation of the equal rights law 
are made by filing a law suit in the superior court. Individuals 
who win their complaints are entitled to reimbursement for their 
reasonable attorney fees.  

 
Massachusetts Executive Order 478 

 
EO 478 
Executive Order 478 prohibits discrimination and mandates 
affirmative action to ensure equal opportunity for people with 
disabilities by the Executive Department of the Commonwealth. 
The requirements of this Order apply to State executive agencies’ 
internal policies and practices, such as employment and the 
granting of licenses, and apply as well to recipients of state 
funding, including contract and grant recipients. Each agency 
under an executive office must create an affirmative action plan, 
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which includes goals and methodology for the placement of people 
with disabilities in the state’s work force. All state employment, 
services and facilities should be accessible and non-discriminatory 
based on disability. Some examples of programs and activities that 
must comply with EO 478 include: employment and training 
services, health care facilities licensed or chartered by the state, 
private educational institutions licensed or chartered by the state 
and those which receive state assistance or participate in state 
programs, or a person, corporation, or business which is licensed 
or chartered by the state.  
  

Enforcement: Responsibilities for carrying out the 
requirements of Executive Order 478 are divided among 
three different agencies: Office of Diversity and Equal 
Opportunity (ODEO), the Massachusetts Commission 
Against Discrimination (MCAD) and the Massachusetts 
Office on Disability (MOD).  
  
Employment related complaints under EO 478 should be 
addressed to: 
  

Massachusetts Commission Against Discrimination 
1 Ashburton Pl. #601 
Boston, MA 02108  
(617) 994-6000 (Voice), (617) 994-6196 (TTY)  
or 
436 Dwight St., #220, Springfield, MA 01103 
(413) 739-2145 (Voice/TTY) 
Website: http://www.mass.gov/mcad  

Or    
Office of Diversity and Equal Opportunity  
One Ashburton Place, #213 
Boston, MA 02108  
(617) 727-7441 (Voice), (617) 727-6015 (TTY)  
Website: http://www.mass.gov/hrd  

  
All other disability related complaints about Executive Branch 
agencies should be directed to the ADA/504 Coordinator for the 
agency.  A list of coordinators is available on the MOD website: 
http://www.mass.gov/mod/ADACOORDINATORSTableSecreta
triatsort.doc. 
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Federal Rehabilitation Act 

 
29 U.S.C. § 791 et seq.  
In 1973, Congress passed the Rehabilitation Act in a national effort 
to end discrimination based on disability by agencies and 
organizations which receive or benefit from federal financial 
assistance. The five major components to the Rehabilitation Act of 
1973, as amended, are:   
● Section 501 – Employment by the Federal Government, page 

21, 
● Section 502 – Architectural and Transportation Barriers 

Compliance, pages 5, 
● Section 503 – Employment by Federal Contractors, page 21 
● Section 504 – Entities Receiving Federal Funds, page 35, 
● Section 508 – Access to Technology, page 43.  
Section 505 contains complaint procedures and remedies available 
to a complainant under 501 and 504. Among other remedies, it 
allows a court to award reasonable attorney's fees to a plaintiff who 
prevails in a discrimination case. 

 
Mass. Sign Language Interpreters In Court Proceedings 

 
G.L. c. 221, § 92A   
When a deaf or hearing impaired person is a party or a witness, 
this law entitles the person to have a qualified interpreter in any 
court proceeding, juvenile proceeding, or proceeding before an 
executive or legislative board, commission, agency, or any other 
body of the state or its political subdivisions. This law also entitles 
a deaf or hearing impaired person to have an interpreter during any 
proceeding that follows an arrest such as notification of rights, 
warnings, interrogation, or taking of a statement. The interpreter 
must be approved by the Massachusetts Commission for the Deaf 
and Hard of Hearing.   
 

For More Information: To hire an interpreter or for more 
information on the law contact: 

MA Commission for the Deaf & Hard of Hearing 
150 Mt. Vernon St. Suite 550, Dorchester, MA 02125 
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[617] 740-1600 (Voice), [617] 740-1700 (TTY) 
[800] 882-1155 (Voice), [800] 530-7570 (TTY) 
Website: http://www.mass.gov/mcdhh   

 

 
 

HATE CRIMES 
Several Massachusetts laws address actions motivated by bigotry 
and bias including, but not limited to, a threatened, attempted or 
completed overt act motivated at least in part by disability based 
prejudice.  It includes acts that deprive another person of his 
constitutional rights by threats, intimidation or coercion, or which 
seek to interfere with or disrupt a person's exercise of constitutional 
rights through harassment or intimidation.  These are generally 
referred to as “hate crimes.” G.L. c. 22C, § 32.  

 
 Violations of Constitutional Rights; Criminal Penalties 

 
G.L. c. 265 § 37 
Massachusetts law makes the following a crime: 
  

No person, whether or not acting under color of law, shall by 
force or threat of force, willfully injure, intimidate or interfere 
with, or attempt to injure, intimidate or interfere with, or 
oppress or threaten any other person in the free exercise or 
enjoyment of any right or privilege secured to him by the 
constitution or laws of the commonwealth or by the 
constitution or laws of the United States.   
  

Any person convicted of violating this provision may be fined up to 
one thousand dollars or imprisoned not more than one year or 
both.  If bodily injury results, the punishment may be increased to a 
fine of up to ten thousand dollars or by imprisonment for up to ten 
years, or both.  
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Assault or Battery Re: Intimidation; Weapons  

 
G.L. c. 265 § 39  
(a)   An assault [2] or a battery [ 2F

3] upon a person or damage to the 
real or personal property of a person with the intent to 
intimidate such person because of such person's disability is a 
crime. Punishable by a fine of up to five thousand dollars or by 
imprisonment in a house of correction for up to two and one-
half years, or by both, a court may also order restitution to the 
victim in any amount up to three times the value of property 
damage sustained by the owner.  

  
(b)   A battery in violation of this section and which results in 

serious bodily injury is punishable by a fine of up to ten 
thousand dollars or by imprisonment in the state prison for up 
to five years, or by both.  If the offender is armed with a firearm, 
rifle, shotgun, machine gun or assault weapon, punishment 
may be increased to imprisonment in the state prison for up to 
ten years or in the house of correction for not more than two 
and one-half years. There is also a surcharge of one hundred 
dollars on a fine assessed against a defendant convicted of a 
violation of this section.  The surcharge goes to the Diversity 
Awareness Education Trust Fund.  In the case of convictions 
for multiple offenses, the surcharge is assessed for each 
conviction.   

  
A person convicted of a battery under (b) section must also 
complete a diversity awareness program designed by the secretary 
of the Executive Office of Public Safety in consultation with the 
Massachusetts Commission Against Discrimination and approved 
by the Chief Justice for Administration and Management of the 
Trial Court.  The program must be completed prior to release from 
incarceration or prior to completion of the terms of probation, 
whichever applies.   
                                                 
2 Actual physical contact. 
3 Words or actions that cause a person to fear for his or her safety. 
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Civil Actions by Attorney General to Enforce Constitutional 
and Legal Rights  

 
G.L c.12, § 11H  
The attorney general may bring a civil law suit to protect the 
peaceable exercise or enjoyment of the right or rights secured by 
the constitution or laws of the United States, or of rights secured by 
the constitution or laws of the Commonwealth.  This type of law 
suit is filed in Superior Court and must be based on evidence that a 
person or persons attempted to or actually interfered by threats, 
intimidation or coercion, with the exercise or enjoyment of civil 
rights by any other person or persons. 

  
Enforcement: 
Department of the Attorney General 
Civil Rights Section 
100 Cambridge Street 
Boston, MA 02114 
(617) 727-2200 (Voice) / (617) 727-4765 (TTY) 
Website: http://www.ago.state.ma.us   
  

 
Civil Damages For Civil Rights Violations 

 
G.L. 266, § 127B  
Any person incurring injury to his person or damage or loss to his 
property as a result of conduct in violation of section 39 of chapter 
265, above, is entitled to file a civil law suit to ask the court to stop 
the violations and to obtain special and general damages, 
reasonable attorney fees and costs against the person whose 
conduct has violated section 39.  Parents and legal guardians of 
unemancipated minor children are liable for any judgment rendered 
against such minor under the provisions of this section.  
  

Enforcement: 
Individuals may file private law suits. 
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HOUSING 
 See also ZONING Section, on page 47. 

 
Federal Fair Housing Act 

 
42 U.S.C. §§ 3535 & 3601-3620   
The Act extends civil rights protection to individuals with disabilities 
by prohibiting discrimination in the sale, rental or conditions of 
occupancy of a dwelling because of a person’s disability. Owner-
occupied dwellings of four or fewer units are exempt from this 
requirement. It is also unlawful to refuse to allow a person with a 
disability to make reasonable modifications at his/her expense to 
allow full use of the premises. Tenants may be required to remove 
modifications and return the unit to the original condition upon 
moving. All new multi-family units, rental units and condominiums, 
in complexes of four or more units, available for first occupancy 
after March 13, 1991, have to be “adaptable.”  Adaptable units 
include features such as wide doorways, low outlets, 
reinforcements in walls for grab bars, useable bathrooms and 
kitchens, if there is an elevator in the building.  If there is no 
elevator, only the ground floor units must be adaptable. All public 
and common areas have to be accessible.   
  

Enforcement: 
Department of Housing and Urban Development 
Office of Fair Housing and Equal Opportunity 
O’Neil Building, 10 Causeway Street, #301 
Boston, MA 02222  
(617) 994-8200 (Voice) (617) 565-5453 (TTY)  
(800) 827-5005 (Voice) - Toll Free in Massachusetts  
(800) 669-9777 (Voice) - Toll free in US 
(617) 565-6558 (FAX) 
Website: http://www.hud.gov/offices/fheo  
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Massachusetts Housing Bill of Rights 

 
G.L. c. 151B §4 
This law has the protections in the federal law.  It also limits the 
owner occupied exemption to two-family units. It is illegal for a 
landlord to ask about a person’s disability, except to ask about 
qualifications for a special type of unit (“Do you have a condition 
that qualifies you for a wheelchair accessible unit?”). Only medical 
opinions that address qualifications for a particular unit may be 
sought (“Does Jane Doe have a condition that qualifies her for a 
unit for people with mental retardation?”).  If there are 3 or more 
units, changes must be made to rules or policies if these changes 
are needed for a person with a disability to use or enjoy the 
premises.  A person with a disability may make reasonable 
modifications to the premises at his/her own expense.   
 
In publicly assisted housing, or housing with 10 or more units, the 
landlord is responsible for paying for reasonable modifications 
unless doing so would impose an “undue hardship.” The law also 
requires that new construction of housing with 3 or more units 
ready for first occupancy after March 13, 1991 be adaptable 
consistent with AAB regulations. The Massachusetts Rehabilitation 
Commission administers a central registry to match accessible and 
adaptable housing units with persons who need them. Local 
Independent Living Centers can provide access to the Registry. 
Access the internet at: 
http://209.58.162.66/registry/registrymax.nsf/webpages/home?open  
  

Enforcement:  
Massachusetts Commission Against Discrimination 
1 Ashburton Pl. #601 
Boston, MA 02108  
(617) 994-6000 (Voice); (617) 994-6196 (TTY) 

 Or 
436 Dwight St., #220  
Springfield, MA 01103  
(413) 739-2145 (Voice/TTY) 
Website: http://www.mass.gov/mcad 
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Federal Pet Law 

 
12 U.S.C. §1701 r-l; 24 C.F.R. §5.300,et seq.  
This law allows persons with disabilities and persons who are 
elderly living in federally assisted non-family rental housing to own 
or keep common household pets (dogs, cats, birds, rabbits, fish or 
turtles). Owners and managers may make reasonable rules for the 
keeping of pets and may require a pet deposit. See also 
Massachusetts Public Accommodations Law, page 38.   
  

Enforcement:  
Department of Housing and Urban Development 
Office of Fair Housing and Equal Opportunity 
10 Causeway Street, #301 
Boston, MA 02222 
(617) 994-8200 and (800) 827-5005 (Voice)  
(617) 565-5453 (TTY)  
Website: http://www.hud.gov/offices/fheo   
 

 
Guide Dogs and Hearing Dogs In Housing  

 
G.L. c. 151B, §4, ¶6(b) 
Refusal to sell or rent housing because an individual uses a guide 
dog for the blind or a hearing assistance dog is specifically 
prohibited. 
 

Enforcement:  
Massachusetts Commission Against Discrimination 
1 Ashburton Pl. #601 
Boston, MA 02108  
(617) 994-6000 (Voice); (617) 994-6196 (TTY) 

Or 

436 Dwight St., #220  
Springfield, MA 01103  
(413) 739-2145 (Voice/TTY) 
Website: http://www.mass.gov/mcad 
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Massachusetts Property Tax Exemptions  

 
G.L. c. 59, § 5   
Clause 37 provides an exemption of $437.50 of property taxes to 
legally blind persons who own and occupy their own property. 
Applications must be made annually. The Commonwealth will 
reimburse the municipality $87.50 for each exemption. Clause 37A 
increases the exemption to $500, but is a local option. A vote of 
Town Meeting (towns) or City Council (cities) must adopt it. 
Clauses 22, 22A, 22B, 22C and 22E apply to veterans with varying 
levels of disability (the greater the disability, the larger the 
exemption).   

For more information contact:  
Massachusetts Department of Revenue 
Local Services, Real Estate Taxes, P.O. Box 9569 

Boston, MA 02114-9569   
(617) 626-2300 and (800) 521-5536 (Voice)  
(617) 887-6140 (TTY) 

Website: http://www.mass.gov/dor   
 

Massachusetts Homestead Protection Act 
 

G.L. c. 188, §1A 
With some exception, the real property or manufactured home of a 
person with a disability can be protected against attachment, 
seizure or execution of a court judgment up to a value of 
$500,000.  The owner must occupy, or intend to occupy, the real 
property or manufactured home as his or her principal residence, 
and he or she must file a disabled person's declaration of 
homestead protection, along with proof of disability.  
  

For further information contact either the city or town 
clerk or the Massachusetts Registry of Deeds for the area 
in which the property is located  
Website:  
http://www.sec.state.ma.us/rod/rodhom/homidx.htm   
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PUBLIC PLACES & PROGRAMS 
 

Americans with Disabilities Act 
 

State and Local Government, Title IIA 
42 U.S.C. § 12131, et seq.  
Effective January 26, 1992, state, local and municipal governments 
must provide equal opportunity for persons with disabilities in 
programs, activities, services and employment practices.  People 
using service animals must be allowed equal access.  Effective 
communication must be ensured with persons who are deaf, hard 
of hearing and blind or who have cognitive disabilities through 
provision of auxiliary aids and services. Remedying actions might 
include the provision of sign language interpreters, the distribution 
of material in large print, braille or audio tape, holding meetings 
and hearings in accessible locations and ending discriminatory 
hiring practices. Under a concept called “programmatic access,” 
every part of every facility need not necessarily be accessible. 
Instead, the programs, activities and services when viewed in their 
entirety must be readily accessible to and useable by persons with 
disabilities.  
  

Enforcement:  
Office on the Americans with Disabilities Act 
Civil Rights Division, U.S. Department of Justice 
950 Pennsylvania Ave., NW, Washington, D.C. 20530 
(202) 514-0301 or (800) 514-0301 (Voice) 
(800) 514-0383 (TTY) 
Website: http://www.usdoj.gov/crt/ada/adahom1.htm 
Individuals may also file private lawsuits.   
  

Public Accommodations, Title III 
42 U.S.C. § 12181, et seq. 
Public accommodations such as restaurants, retail stores, parks, 
day care centers and homeless shelters, may not discriminate 
based on disability, effective January 26, 1992.  
  
Public accommodations must make reasonable modifications in 
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policies, practices and procedures, unless the modifications would 
fundamentally alter the nature of the goods or services.  Such 
modifications must include waiving any “no animals” policy to allow 
guide dogs and service animals to accompany their owner with a 
disability.  Physical barriers in existing facilities must be removed if 
readily achievable (easily accomplishable and able to be carried 
out without much difficulty or expense). If not, alternative readily 
achievable methods of providing services must be offered. 
 Auxiliary aids and services must be provided to individuals with 
vision or hearing impairments, unless an undue burden would 
result. 
  

Enforcement: Complaints must be filed within 180 days of the 
alleged discriminatory act. 
U.S. Department of Justice, Civil Rights Division 
Disability Rights Section 
Office on the Americans with Disabilities Act 
950 Pennsylvania Ave., NW, Washington, D.C. 20530 
(202) 514-0301, (800) 514-0301 (Voice) 
(800) 514-0383 (TTY) 
Website: http://www.usdoj.gov/crt/ada/adahom1.htm  
Individuals may also file private lawsuits.  
  

 
Federal Rehabilitation Act: Entities Receiving Federal 
Funds, §504 

 
29 U.S.C. § 794 et seq.   
This section prohibits discrimination against people with disabilities 
under any program or activity receiving or benefiting from federal 
financial assistance. It states that:  
 

"No otherwise qualified handicapped individual in the United 
States ... shall, solely by reason of his handicap, be excluded 
from participation in, be denied the benefits of, or be subjected 
to discrimination under any program or activity receiving federal 
financial assistance or under any program or activity conducted 
by any Executive agency or by the United States Postal 
Service." 
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Organizations, such as colleges, public schools, libraries, 
hospitals, or cultural programs, which receive or benefit from 
federal financial funds, must provide equal opportunity for people 
with disabilities in their programs and activities. Remedying actions 
might include the provision of sign language interpreters, the 
distribution of material in large print or braille or moving a class to a 
physically accessible location. Every part of every building need 
not necessarily be accessible, but the program, when viewed in its 
entirety must not discriminate against or segregate persons with 
disabilities.  
Some examples of compliance with Section 504 may include:   
  
● A hospital that receives Medicaid money must provide a 

qualified interpreter to someone who is deaf when 
communication is necessary. A hospital also must provide the 
use of a TTY4 (telephone communication device for the deaf) to 
a deaf person who requires one to communicate on the 
telephone.  
  
o A school or college that receives federal financial 

assistance cannot decline an application based on a 
person's disability. All programs and classes must be made 
available. For example, a class must be moved to an 
accessible location on campus if a person with a mobility 
impairment wants to attend, a qualified interpreter must be 
provided if one is needed for a deaf person to understand 
the instructor, a note taker, large print books or books on 
tape must be provided to a student who needs it because of 
his/her disability or extra time must be provided to complete 
a test.  

  
o If a museum that receives federal funds conducts an arts 

program in an inaccessible location, the museum must 
make sure the same program is offered in an accessible 
place.   

 
                                                 
4 This device is sometimes referred to as a TDD. 
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Enforcement: Federal agencies, such as the Department of 
Education and the Department of Housing and Urban 
Development, have developed regulations under Section 504. 
Each federal agency providing the financial assistance is 
responsible for establishing an enforcement procedure. Some 
of the larger department contacts are:  
  

U.S. Department of Education, Office of Civil Rights 
33 Arch Street, Suite 900,  
Boston, MA 02110-1491 
(617) 289-0111 (Voice) / (877) 521-2172 (TTY)  

Or 

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services 
Office of Civil Rights 
JFK Federal Building, Room 1875 
Boston, MA 02203 
(617) 565-1340 (Voice) / (800) 537-7697 (TTY) 
Or 

U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development 
Office of Fair Housing 
Thomas P. O’Neill, Jr. Federal Building 
10 Causeway Street, Room 321 
Boston, MA 02222-1092 
(617) 994-8300 (Voice) / (617) 565-5453 (TTY) 

  
To find out which other agency would handle a particular type 
of complaint, contact:  
  

U.S. Department of Justice 
Civil Rights Division 
950 Pennsylvania Avenue, N.W.  
Disability Rights Section - NYAV 
Washington, D.C. 20530 
(800) 514-0301 (Voice) or (800) 514-0383 (TTY) 
Website: www.ada.gov 

  
It may also be enforced through private law suits.   
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Massachusetts Public Accommodations Law 

 
G.L. c. 272, §§ 92A and 98   
Discrimination in places of public accommodation based on 
disability is prohibited.  This is defined as any place, which is open 
to and accepts the general public. The law prohibits discrimination 
not only in terms of building access but also in terms of business or 
services. For example, a bank cannot refuse to grant a loan to 
someone based on his/her disability and a hotel cannot exclude 
someone who uses a personal care attendant from a room. This 
law also prohibits discrimination against a blind, deaf or hard of 
hearing person, or any other person with a disability who uses a 
support or guide dog.  At one time, this law allowed operators of 
public accommodations to require that a guide or service animal be 
muzzled and to demand special identification of service animals.  
As these provisions violated the Americans with Disabilities Act, 
page 34 above, they were repealed in 2000 and 2004, 
respectively.   
  

Enforcement: A complaint must be filed within 300 days of the 
alleged act at the Massachusetts Commission Against 
Discrimination: 
  

1 Ashburton Pl. #601 
Boston, MA 02108 
(617) 994-6000 (Voice) / (617) 994-6196 (TTY) 
  
Or 
  
436 Dwight St., #220 
Springfield, MA 01103 
(413) 739-2145. (Voice/TTY) 
Website: http://www.mass.gov/mcad  
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SERVICE ANIMALS 
 

Massachusetts Service Animal Law 
 

G.L. c. 272, §§ 92A and 98A  
Any person with a disability accompanied by a dog guide or service 
animal is entitled to any and all accommodations, advantages, 
facilities and privileges of all public conveyances, public 
amusements and places of public accommodation, within the 
Commonwealth, to which others not accompanied by dogs are 
entitled, subject only to the conditions and limitations applicable to 
all persons not accompanied by dogs.  People training service 
animals are also protected.  No service animal user may be 
required to pay any charge or fare for the service animal in addition 
to those lawfully chargeable for the user’s own travel.  

  
Enforcement: Violation of this law is punishable by a fine of 
not more than three hundred dollars, and the service animal 
user is entitled to damages.  Complaints must be filed within 
300 Days at  

Massachusetts Commission Against Discrimination 
      1 Ashburton Pl. #601 

Boston, MA 02108 
(617) 994-6000 (Voice) / (617) 994-6196 (TTY)  

Or  

436 Dwight St., #220 
Springfield, MA 01103 
(413) 739-2145 (Voice/TTY) 
Website: http://www.mass.gov/mcad 

  
See also Public Places and Programs.  

  

 40 – MA Disability Laws  

 
Service Animal and Training Laws 

 
There are four laws in Massachusetts that directly address service 
animal training: 
  
● General - G.L. c. 129, § 39F  

A person accompanied by and engaged in the raising or 
training of a service dog, including a hearing, guide or 
assistance dog, shall have the same rights, privileges and 
responsibilities as those afforded to an individual with a 
disability under the Americans with Disabilities Act, 42 U.S.C. 
sections 12101 et seq. 
  

For more information, contact MOD at [617] 727-7440 or 
toll free at [800] 322-2020 (both V/TTY) 

  
● Hearing Dogs - G.L. c. 129 § 39D  

A person engaged in the hearing dog business, while actually 
engaged in the training process and activities of hearing dogs, 
shall have the same rights, privileges and responsibilities with 
respect to access to public facilities as those applicable to deaf 
persons. 
  

For more information:  
MA Commission for the Deaf and Hard of Hearing 
150 Mt Vernon Street, Fifth Floor, Dorchester, MA 02125 
[617] 740-1600 (Voice), [617] 740-1700 (TTY) 
[800] 882-1155 (Voice), [800] 530-7570 (TTY) 
Website: http://www.mass.gov/mcdhh  

  
● Hearing dog business licensing - G.L c. 129, § 39C  

People engaged in the hearing dog business must be licensed. 
 A hearing dog shall, for identification purposes, be fitted with a 
collar and leash that are of a bright color. 
  

For more information, contract the Massachusetts 
Commission for the Deaf and Hard of Hearing, above.  
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Massachusetts Fair Educational Practices Law 

 
G.L. c. 151C 
“Educational institutions” may not exclude any student from 
admission because the student is blind or deaf or requires the use 
of a guide dog.  See also the Education Section. 
  

Enforcement: Complaints must be filed within six months of 
the alleged discrimination with:  
 

Massachusetts Commission Against Discrimination  
      1 Ashburton Pl. #601 

Boston, MA 02108 
(617) 994-6000 (Voice) / (617) 994-6196 (TTY) 
 
Or  
 
436 Dwight St., #220 
Springfield, MA 01103 
(413) 739-2145 (Voice/TTY) 
Website: http://www.mass.gov/mcad 

   

See also Guide Dogs And Hearing Dogs under the Housing 
Section, p. 32. 
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TELECOMMUNICATION AND TECHNOLOGY 

 
Federal Telecommunications Act 

 
47 U.S.C. § 225  
Originally enacted as part of the Americans with Disabilities Act, 
this law deals with telephone and television access for people with 
hearing and speech disabilities.  Some examples of the 
requirements in this act are as follows.  Companies producing 
televisions with screens at least 13” diagonally must be built in 
decoders to allow for opening of closed captions.  Telephone 
companies must provide telecommunication Relay Services for 
people with hearing or speech impairments 24 hours a day, seven 
days a week, effective July 26, 1993.  Relay Services enables 
callers who use telecommunication devices for the deaf (TTYs),5 

 and those who use voice telephones to communicate with each 
other through a third party communication assistant.  The Federal 
Communication Commission has set minimum standards for Relay 
Services.  See 47 C.F.R. §§ 6 and 7 for details. 
  
Federally funded television public service announcements and 
emergency announcements must include captioning of the verbal 
content.  Video programming distributors under the jurisdiction of 
the FCC must provide captioning for the lesser of an average of 
1350 hours of captioned video programming or all of its new 
nonexempt video programming.  As of January 1, 2006, and 
thereafter, 100% of the programming distributor's new nonexempt 
video programming must be provided with captions.  See 47 C.F.R. 
§ 79.1, et seq. for details. 
  
Video description technology enables individuals to “hear what 
they cannot see” by providing verbal explanation of key visual 
elements in programming, inserted into natural pauses in the audio 
of programming.  It is designed to make television programming 
more accessible to the many Americans who have visual 
disabilities.  Under rules adopted by the FCC, broadcast stations 
                                                 
5 This device is sometimes referred to as a TDD. 
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and multi-channel video programming distributors must provide 
programming with video description. 47 C.F.R. § 79.3  
  

Enforcement 
Federal Communication Commission 
445 12th Street, SW 
Washington, DC 20554 
(888) 225-5322 (Voice) / (888) 835-5322 (TTY) 
Website: http://www.fcc.gov/cgb/dro  
Individuals may bring private lawsuits.  
 

 
Federal Rehabilitation Act, Access to Technology: 
Section 508 

 
29 U.S.C. § 794d, et seq.    
This section requires federal agencies to ensure that information 
technology that is developed, purchased or used is accessible to 
people with disabilities.  This includes both federal employees and 
members of the public. 
  

Enforcement: 
U.S. General Services Administration 
Center for IT Accommodation (CITA) 
1800 F Street, NW, Room 1234, MC:MKC 
Washington, DC 20405-0001 
(202) 501-4906 (Voice) / (202) 501-2010 (TTY) 
Website: http://www.section508.gov  

  
U.S. Architectural and Transportation Barriers Compliance 
Board 
1331 F Street, NW, Suite 1000 
Washington, D.C. 20004-1111 
(800) 872-2253 (Voice) / (800) 993-2822 (TTY) 
Website: http://www.access-board.gov  
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VOTING 
 

Federal Voting for the Elderly and Handicapped Act 
 

42 U.S.C. § 1973ee, et seq.  
In each state, political subdivisions responsible for conducting 
elections must assure that all polling places for federal elections 
are accessible to disabled and elderly voters.  
  

 
Mass. Secretary of State, Election Division Regulations 

 
950 C.M.R. §51 (not available on line) 
In Massachusetts, the Elections Division of the Secretary of State’s 
Office has written regulations that apply to site access, parking, 
entrances, voting equipment, etc. All municipalities are responsible 
for following these regulations. The position of the Massachusetts 
Attorney General is that state and municipal elections must also be 
accessible to persons with disabilities.  
  

Enforcement: If the Elections Division is unable to achieve 
voluntary compliance, the matter is referred to the Civil Rights 
Division of the Attorney General’s Office. Individuals can also 
bring an action for declaratory or injunctive relief in the 
appropriate district court. 
  
Elections Division, Office of the Secretary of State 
One Ashburton Place, Room 1705 
Boston, MA 02108 
(617) 727-2828 / (800) 462-8683 / (800) 392-6090 (Voice) 
(617) 878-3889 (TTY) 

Or 
436 Dwight Street, Room 102,  
Springfield, MA 01103 
(413) 784-1376 (Voice) 
Website: http://www.mass.gov/sec/ele    
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Help America Vote Act (HAVA) 

 
42 U.S.C. §15301, §15545 
  
The Help America Vote Act (HAVA) was signed by President Bush 
in October 2002 in an effort to improve voting across the country 
and in response to the problems that arose in the 2000 Presidential 
elections.  This federal legislation makes changes in the election 
process and applies to all federal elections in the United States.  
The most significant areas impacted by the legislation include 
voting equipment standards, including accessibility, provisional 
voting, voter registration, and voter education. 
  
HAVA requires that voting systems used after January 2006 be 
accessible to voters with disabilities, including voters with vision 
impairments, in a manner that provides the same opportunity for 
access and participation (including privacy and independence), as 
is provided for other voters. 

  
Enforcement: 
Same as Federal Voting for the Elderly and Handicapped Act, 
above.  
 
For more information:  
Election Assistance Commission   
1225 New York Ave., Suite 1100 
Washington, DC 2005 
(202) 566-3100 (Voice Only) / (866) 747-1471 (Voice Only) 
Web site: http://www.eac.gov 

Or  
Voting Section, Civil Rights Division, Room 7254 - NWB 
Department of Justice 
950 Pennsylvania Ave., N.W. 
Washington, DC   20530 
(800) 253-3931 / (202) 307-2767 (Voice) 
(202) 616-1415 (TTY) 
Website: http://www.usdoj.gov/crt/voting/hava/hava.html  
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WHEELCHAIRS  

 
Massachusetts Wheelchair Lemon Law 

 
G.L. c. 93, §107    
Individuals who lease or purchase customized wheelchairs are 
entitled to have defects repaired or if not repairable refunds, plus 
interest paid. Failure to conform can result in fines to the 
manufacture of twice the cost to the consumer.  

  
Enforcement: 
Office of Consumer Affairs, Business Regulations 
10 Park Plaza, Suite 5170 
Boston, MA 02116  
(617) 973-8700 (Voice), (617) 973-8790 (TTY) 
Website: http://www.mass.gov/consumer  
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ZONING  

 
Massachusetts Zoning Law, Access Ramps 

 
G.L. c. 40A § 3 ¶8 
No dimensional lot requirement of a zoning ordinance or by-
law, including but not limited to, set back, front yard, side 
yard, rear yard and open space shall apply to handicapped 
access ramps on private property used solely for the purpose 
of facilitating ingress or egress of a physically handicapped 
person, as defined in section thirteen A of chapter twenty-
two. 
 

 

Massachusetts Zoning Law, General and Community 
Residences 

 
G.L. c. 40A § 3 ¶4   
Local land use and health and safety laws, regulations, practices, 
ordinances, by-laws and decisions of a city or town shall not 
discriminate against a disabled person. Imposition of health and 
safety laws or land-use requirements on congregate living 
arrangements among non-related persons with disabilities that are 
not imposed on families and groups of similar size or other 
unrelated persons shall constitute discrimination. The ramp must 
comply with AAB standards. 
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NOTES 
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