Create a Website Account - Manage notification subscriptions, save form progress and more.
Show All Answers
Abatements are filed when the property owner believes that the property has a disproportionate assessment, an improper classification, is statutorily exempt or overvalued. The majority of abatements are filed when a property owner disputes the assessed value (overvalued).
Please note: You are appealing your assessment, not your taxes. Therefore, you must pay your taxes pending your appeal.
The Board of Assessors will review your property record card, compare it to sales of similar property and analyze your street and your neighborhood to determine whether or not to grant an abatement. The Assessors may also request written information that is relevant to the valuation of the property. To preserve your right to appeal an abatement decision, you must provide all information requested by the Board of Assessors. Failure to respond to an information request within 30 days of the request will result in a denial of the application and may bar an appeal to the Appellate Tax Board.
1) In person at the City Clerk’s Office, 17 Springfield Street, Chicopee, MA.
2) By mailing a completed certificate of application, with a check or money order for $10.00 per certified copy requested, and a stamped, self-addressed, business-sized envelope to the City Clerk’s Office, 17 Springfield Street, Chicopee, M 01013.
3) Online via our Online Bill Pay Center. There is a small fee to pay directly from your checking account. Please note that a convenience fee will be charged for credit card payments.
Public Records Disclosure: Except for vital records that are restricted by law, vital records are a public record in Massachusetts.
To obtain a marriage license in Chicopee, both parties must come into the City Clerk’s Office to apply. Due to time requirements involved applications for marriage intentions are accepted up to 4:00 PM. There is a three day waiting period and a twenty-five dollar filing fee. The three day waiting period includes weekends and holidays. You may apply for a marriage license in any city or town in Massachusetts, however, the marriage record will only be on file in the city or town where the license was obtained. Once the marriage license is returned to our office, and recorded, certified copies may be obtained at a cost of $10.00 each. Blood tests are no longer required. Both parties must be not less than 18 years of age. Per the Commonwealth of Massachusetts, proof of identification shall be presented with any of the following documents; (1) an original or certified copy of a record of birth; (2) an original or certified copy of a baptismal record; (3) a passport; (4) a life insurance policy; (5) an employment certificate; (6) a school record; (7) an immigration record; (8) a naturalization record; or (9) a court record. The clerk or registrar shall not accept documentary evidence of a lower grade unless the clerk or registrar is satisfied that evidence of a higher grade is not readily procurable. All documents are signed under the Pains and Penalties of Perjury. If you have any further questions, please feel free to contact the City Clerk’s Office.
In Massachusetts, you need is a rabies certificate to register your puppy/dog. Once you receive this certificate from your veterinarian, you have 30 days from the date of vaccination, to come into the office and license your dog. If your new dog isn’t spayed or neutered the license fee is $5.00 if under 1 year of age. Once your puppy/dog is spayed or neutered the license fee is $5.00, with the spaying/neutering certificate, if not spayed or neutered the fee is $25.00. It is important to license your dog for a few reasons; * After April 30th, if not licensed, late fees begin to accumulate. * Without a license your dog could end up in the pound! * It’s the Law. If we are not in receipt of a rabies vaccination for your animal it is a violation of MGL Chapter 140, Section 137 registration and licenses. This means a complaint can be filed against those not in compliance in Chicopee District Court. * If your dog is lost, a license can help get your pooch home! To license your new puppy/dog through the mail, please use this
In order to file a business certificate with the City of Chicopee, you first must check with the Building Department to see if your location needs a certificate of occupancy or if the certificate of occupancy needs to be updated. The number you can reach them at is 413-594-1440.Business certificates are valid for four years from the date of issuance, and there is a filing fee of $25.00. The business certificate should be posted in the place of business and be furnished upon request by any person who has purchased goods or services from such business.You must modify your existing certificate of any business changes or file a Discontinuance form with the City Clerk if your business ceases to operate, please contact the City Clerk’s Office for the procedure.
This ordinance is available on our website or a paper copy is available in the City Clerk’s Office; if you would like to review Chapter 244 Tag Sales/Yard Sales ordinance online please click here.
To change the mail address for a motor vehicle excise, go to the Registry of Motor Vehicle website at mass.gov
A form of list must be filed with the Assessors Office on or before March 1 every year. A postcard with a reminder is mailed to existing businesses from the prior year. An assessor will reach out to new businesses in person, by phone or by mail. Notices are placed in city hall.
The Board of Assessors accepts exemption applications beginning in July. The deadline for all exemptions is April 1st of the following calendar year.
When property is held in trust, legal title is separated from the beneficial or equitable interest. The person in whom legal title is vested, and to whom the property is ordinarily assessed, is the trustee. The holder of the right to enjoy the property is the beneficiary. Furthermore, the Supreme Judicial Court has ruled that the taxpayer, by placing their property in trust, voluntarily chooses to separate legal title and beneficial ownership. If you have retained full ownership, naming yourself as trustee and beneficiary, or by retaining a life estate, you may be eligible for an exemption.